Balqabaq Tag Tutorial
By LismibaebisCreations
30 August 2026
I used an image from Nicolle's Colorful Art.
I bought it from Creative Fabrica.
I have a subscription, pay annually and can download what and as much as I want.
The image is from the album "Whimsical Autumn Gnome"
Skill Level: Advanced Beginners
Knowledge of using Filters necessary
(or learn how to get started with my ABC Tutorials)
It is getting harder and harder for me to find names for new tutorials.
Some time ago I had the idea to look at different languages to see if anything "jumps" at me.
For this tag I used the word "Pumpkin" with Learn Entry and decided on the
Azerbaijani word.
This tutorial is my own creation; any resemblance to another tutorial is purely coincidental
Program shortcuts will be given in parentheses
Needed
Paint Shop Pro - I used X2
(Tutorial will work with other versions)
Free 30 day trial from Corel,
available here
Image
Tube of choice
Filters
dsb flux, available here
FunHouse Filters, available here
MuRa's Meister > Copies, available here
Eye Candy 4000, (email me Lismibaebi at gmail.com for a link)
Font
Font of Choice – I used "KG My Hands are Holding You", available here
Performance Notes
This tutorial is in 2 parts:
- Preparation
- Tag
The settings for different Tools and Effects will stay the same throughout the tutorial, unless new setting instructions are given
Don't forget to save your work often
|
Click on the arrow and drag it to mark the progress on this page.
|
Preparation
1) Download and install filters
(If necessary)
(If you install filters you need to restart PSP afterwards)
2) File > Open
Open image of choice
3) Window > Duplicate
Edit > Copy
Close original
Tag
4) Image > Resize (Shift + S)
Settings:
Width = Will self adjust
Height = 250 Pixels
Resolution = 72.000 Pixels / Inch
Resample using = Bicubic
Lock aspect ratio = Checked
Resize all layers = Checked
ok
5) Dropper Tool (E)
Right click in the tag to choose a dark background color
(I chose #583320)
6) Layers > Duplicate
Right click on layer and rename to "Tube A"
Turn off visibility of layer
7) Image > Canvas Size
Settings:
Width = 600 Pixels
Height = 250 Pixels
Lock aspect ratio = Not checked
Placement = Center diamond
8) Activate original Tube layer
Image > Resize (Shift + S)
Settings:
Width = 70 %
Height = 70 %
Resize all layers = Not checked
ok
9) Effects > Plugins > MuRa's Meister > Copies
Settings: Wall Paper(shrink)
Number = 20
Shift X = 50, Shift Y = 50
Angle = 0, Rotation = 100
Attenuation = 0, Scale = 100
Thru BG Range = 0
Fade Out = 0
10) Effects > Plugins > MuRa's Meister > Copies
Settings: Wall Paper(rotate)
Number = 20
Shift X = 50, Shift Y = 50
Angle = 0, Rotation = 100
Attenuation = 0, Scale = 100
Thru BG Range = 0
Fade Out = 0
11) Edit > Repeat Copies
If
transparent spaces are visible
12) Effects > Reflection Effects > Pattern
Settings:
Horizontal offset (%) = 27
Vertical offset (%) = -23 (Minus)
Rotation angle = 80
Scale factor = 19
Number of columns = 17
Number of rows = 20
Horizontal shift = -86 (Minus)
Vertical shift = 67
13) Layers > Duplicate
14) Effects > Plugins > FunHouse > Cirquelate
Settings: Default
Cirquels = 20
15) Layers Palette
Reduce opacity to 91
16) Layers > Merge > Merge Down
17) Optional:
Image > Flip
Image > Mirror
With newer PSP versions your path might be different
18) Layers > New Raster Layer
19) Layers > Arrange > Bring to Top
20) Selections > Select All
21) Flood Fill Tool (F)
Settings:
Match mode = None
Use all layers = Not checked
Blend mode = Normal
Opacity = 100
22) Right click to flood fill new layer with Background color
23) Selections > Modify > Contract
Settings:
Number of pixels = 4
24) Edit > Clear
25) Selections > Invert
26) Effects > Plugins > dsb flux> Bright Noise
Settings:
Intensity = 22
Mix = Checked
27) Effects > 3D Effects > Inner Bevel
Settings:
Bevel #2, Width = 20,
Smoothness = 10, Depth = 10
Ambience = 10, Shininess = 2
Color = White, Angle = 315
Intensity = 50, Elevation = 30
28) Selections > Invert
29) Layers > New Raster Layer
30) Effects > 3D Effects > Cutout
Settings:
Vertical & Horizontal = 0
Shadow color = Black
Opacity = 80
Blur = 25.00
Fill interior with color = Not checked
(Or a setting of your liking)
31) Selections > Select None
32) Activate layer "Tube A"
Layers Palette
Turn on visibility of layer
33) Adjust > Sharpness > Unsharp Mask
Settings:
Radius = 5.00, Strength = 10
Clipping = 30
Luminance only = Not checked
(Or a setting of your liking)
34) Move Tool (M)
Move tube into preferred position
35) Optional:
Layers > Duplicate
36) Optional: (if you did Step #34)
Image > Mirror
With newer PSP versions your path might be different, possibly Image > Flip Horizontal and move the tube to the opposite side of the tag
37) Optional: (if you did Step #34)
Layers Palette
Change blend mode, and/or opacity and size to your liking
38) Activate layer "Tube A"
Effects > 3D Effects > Drop Shadow
Settings:
Vertical = 0
Horizontal = 5
Opacity = 55
Blur = 60.00
Color = Black
Shadow on new layer = Not checked
(Or a setting of your liking)
39) Layers > New Raster Layer
40) Layers > Arrange > Bring to Top
41) Add your artists copyrights/information
AI images can not be copyrighted
42) For the Text:
Dropper Tool
Left click in image to choose a very dark Foreground color
(I chose #2c1810 - a darker
shade of my Background color)
43) Text Tool (T)
Settings:
Font = KG My Hands are Holding You
Size = 42 Points (or what suits your Font and Text)
Alignment = Center
Direction = Horizontal and Down
Anti-alias = Sharp
Stroke width = 1.2 (or what suits your Font and Text)
Create as Vector
Auto kern = Checked
Kerning = 10 (or what suits your Font and Text)
44) Type Text of choice and click on Apply
45) Layers > Convert to Raster Layer
46) Effects > Plugins > Eye Candy 4000 > Gradient Glow
Settings:
Basic:
Glow width (pixels) = 3.00
Soft Corners (%) = 25
Overall Opacity (%) = 100
Draw Only Outside Selection = Checked
Color:
Click on "Fat"
1st Color = Light color suiting your image
2nd Color = Lighter shade of 1st color
Opacity = 100
(Or a setting of your liking)
47) Optional:
Adjust > Brightness and Contrast > Brightness/Contrast (Shift & B)
Settings:
Brightness = 20
Contrast = 10
(Or a setting of your liking)
48) Effects > 3D Effects > Drop Shadow
Settings:
Vertical & Horizontal = 2
Opacity = 44, Blur = 10.00
Color = Black
Shadow on new layer = Not checked
(Or a setting of your liking)
49) Move Tool
Move text to place of choice
50) Optional:
Activate bottom (background) layer
Layers > Duplicate
Change blend mode to "Multiply "
Layers > Duplicate
You might want to try different blend modes and opacity
51) File > Export > JPEG Optimizer
Settings:
Set Compression value to = 10
Chroma subsampling = YCbCr 2x2 1x1 1x1
Save Exif data = Not checked
You are done!
I hope that you enjoyed doing this tutorial. If you have any questions, please email me:
Lismibaebi at gmail.com
I would love to see what you create with my tutorial.
A special "Thank you" goes to my Tester Group.
Your help, support and patience has made all the difference.
Back to top
|