Eangach Tag Tutorial

picture of tut result

By LismibaebisCreations
1 August 2026

I used an image from COW.design. I bought it from Creative Fabrica.
I have a subscription, pay annually and can download what and as much as I want.
The image is from the album "Watercolor St Patrick".

Skill Level: Advanced Beginners
Knowledge of using Filters necessary
(or learn how to get started with my ABC Tutorials)

It is getting harder and harder for me to find names for new tutorials.
Some time ago I had the idea to look at different languages to see if anything "jumps" at me.
For this tag I used the word "Grid" with Translate.How, liked 3 suggestions and decided on the Irish word.

This tutorial is my own creation; any resemblance to another tutorial is purely coincidental

Program shortcuts will be given in parentheses



Needed

Paint Shop Pro - I used X2
(Tutorial will work with other versions)
Free 30 day trial from Corel, available here



Image

Tube of choice



Filters

Simple Filters, available here
Kang Filters, available here
MuRa's Meister > Copies, available here
Eye Candy 4000, (email me Lismibaebi at gmail.com for a link)



Font

Font of Choice – I used "Cricket", available here



Performance Notes

This tutorial is in 2 parts:
- Preparation
- Tag

The settings for different Tools and Effects will stay the same throughout the tutorial, unless new setting instructions are given

Don't forget to save your work often


arrow

Click on the arrow and drag it to mark the progress on this page.



Preparation

1) Download and install filters
(If necessary)
(If you install filters you need to restart PSP afterwards)

2) File > Open
Open image of choice

3) Window > Duplicate
Close original

4) Edit > Copy



Tag

5) File > New
Settings:
Width = 600 Pixels
Height = 250 Pixels
Resolution = 72.000 Pixels/inch
Raster Background = Checked
Color depth = RGB / 8 bits channel
Transparent = Checked

6) Edit > Paste As New Layer

7) Image > Resize (Shift + S)
Settings:
Width = 80 %
Height = 80
Resolution = 72.000 Pixels / Inch
Resample using = Bicubic
Lock aspect ratio = Checked
Resize all layers = Not checked
ok

8) Edit > Repeat Resize
Repeat until you have the tube showing to your liking.
Depending on the tube you work with, you might choose to resize in 50% steps to start with

9) Layers > Duplicate
Turn off visibility of duplicated tube

10) Activate original tube layer
Effects > Plugins > MuRa's Meister > Copies
Settings: Wall Paper(shrink)
Number = 20
Shift X = 50, Shift Y = 50
Angle = 50, Rotation = 50
Attenuation = 0, Scale = 100
Thru BG Range = 0
Fade Out = 0

11) Layers > Duplicate

12) Effects > Plugins > MuRa's Meister > Copies
Settings: Wall Paper(rotate)
Number = 20
Shift X = 50, Shift Y = 50
Angle = 0, Rotation = 100
Attenuation = 0, Scale = 100
Thru BG Range = 0
Fade Out = 0

13) Layers > Arrange > Move Down

14) Layers > Merge > Merge Visible

15) Layers > Duplicate
Right click on layer and rename to "BGb"

16) Adjust > Blur > Gaussian Blur
Settings:
Radius = 6.00

17) Effects > Plugins > Simple > 4 Way Average

18) Layers Palette
Change blend mode to "Multiply"

19) Activate bottom layer
Right click on layer and rename to "BGa"

20) Effects > Plugins > kang > Houdini is only sleeping
Settings: Default
Bars master = 72
Bars dependant = 49
Bars BG = 43
Bars Light = 215
control Light = 213
(The filter might be under kang or kang 2, can also be imported into Filters Unlimited)

21) Activate and unhide tube layer
Move Tool (M)
Move tube into position of choice

22) Adjust > Sharpness > Unsharp Mask
Settings:
Radius = 5.00, Strength = 10
Clipping = 30
Luminance only = Not checked
(Or a setting of your liking)

23) Effects > 3D Effects > Drop Shadow
Settings:
Vertical & Horizontal = 2
Opacity = 44
Blur = 10.00
Color = Black
Shadow on new layer = Not checked
(Or a setting of your liking)

24) Materials Palette
Change Background color to black

25) Layers > New Raster Layer

26) Selections > Select All

27) Flood Fill Tool (F)
Settings:
Match mode = None
Use all layers = Not checked
Blend mode = Normal
Opacity = 100

28) Right click to flood fill with Background Color

29) Selections > Modify > Contract
Settings:
Number of pixels = 3

30) Edit > Clear

31) Selections > Select None

32) Effects > Plugins > Eye Candy 4000 > Gradient Glow
Settings:
Basic:
Glow width (pixels) = 3.00
Soft Corners (%) = 25
Overall Opacity (%) = 100
Draw Only Outside Selection = Checked
Color = Color of choice
Color:
Thin
Light color from your image
(I chose #d7d3b9)

33) Edit > Repeat Gradient Glow

34) Layers > New Raster Layer

35) Add your artists copyrights/information
AI images can not be copyrighted

36) For the Text:
Materials Palette
Set Foreground color to light to medium color of choice
(I chose #e4ab4b)

37) Text Tool (T)
Settings:
Font = Cricket
Size = 44 Points (or what suits your Font and Text)
Font style = Bold
Alignment = Center
Direction = Horizontal and Down
Anti-alias = Sharp
Stroke width = 1.2 (or what suits your Font and Text)
Create as Vector
Auto kern = Checked
Kerning = 0 (or what suits your Font and Text)

38) Type Text of choice and click on Apply

39) Layers > Convert to Raster Layer

40) Effects > Plugins > Eye Candy 4000 > Gradient Glow
Settings:
Basic:
Glow width (pixels) = 3.00
Soft Corners (%) = 25
Overall Opacity (%) = 100
Draw Only Outside Selection = Checked
Color = Color of choice
Color:
Thin
Color = Black

41) Effects > 3D Effects > Drop Shadow
Settings:
Vertical & Horizontal = 1
Opacity = 25, Blur = 2.00
Color = Black
Shadow on new layer = Not checked
(Or a setting of your liking)

42) Adjust > Brightness and Contrast > Brightness/Contrast (Shift & B)
Settings:
Brightness = -10 Minus
Contrast = 12
(Or a setting of your liking)

43) Move Tool
Move text to place of choice

44) Optional:
Change blend mode and/or opacity of "BGb" Layer to your liking

45) File > Export > JPEG Optimizer
Settings:
Set Compression value to = 10
Chroma subsampling = YCbCr 2x2 1x1 1x1
Save Exif data = Not checked


You are done!

I hope that you enjoyed doing this tutorial. If you have any questions, please email me:
Lismibaebi at gmail.com
I would love to see what you create with my tutorial.



A special "Thank you" goes to my Tester Group.
Your help, support and patience has made all the difference.

smilie


Link to First Page


Back to top