Kukat Mosaiikki Tag Tutorial

picture of tut result

By LismibaebisCreations
15 October 2025

I used an image from Cecily Arts.
I bought it from Creative Fabrica.
I have a subscription, pay annually and can download what and as much as I want.
The image is from the album "Blue Flowers".

Skill Level: Intermediate & Adventurous Others
Knowledge of using Filters is necessary
(Or learn how to get started with my ABC Tutorials)

This tutorial is my own creation; any resemblance to another tutorial is purely coincidental

Program shortcuts will be given in parentheses



Needed

Paint Shop Pro - I used X2
(Tutorial will work with other versions)
Free 30 day trial from Corel, available here



Image

Tube of choice
Preferably colorful image



Filters

Impressionist Filter, available here
MuRa's Meister > Copies, available here



User Defined Filter

Emboss_3, available here
In older PSP versions integral part of the program



Font

Font of Choice – I used Dupree, available here (Free to Use)



Performance Notes

This tutorial is in 3 parts:
- Preparation
- Tag
- Pattern for Text

The settings for different Tools and Effects will stay the same throughout the tutorial, unless new setting instructions are given

Don't forget to save your work often


arrow

Click on the arrow and drag it to mark the progress on this page.



Preparation

1) Download and install filters
(If necessary)
(If you install filters you need to restart PSP afterwards)

2) Download the Emboss_3.zip file
(If necessary)
Unzip and place into your Presets folder
Not to be confused with the Preset Shapes folder
You might have to ok the browser to download

3) File > Open
Open image of choice

4) Window > Duplicate
Close original

5) Dropper Tool (E)
Left click to choose a dark Foreground color
(I chose #262640)
Right click to choose a light Background color
(I chose #cbd4d3)

6) Edit > Copy
Minimize



Tag

7) File > New
Settings:
Width = 600 Pixels
Height = 250 Pixels
Resolution = 72.000 Pixels/inch
Raster Background = Checked
Color depth = RGB / 8 bits channel
Transparent = Checked

8) Edit > Paste As New Layer

9) Image > Resize (Shift + S)
Settings:
Width = 80 %
Height = 80
Resolution = 72.000 Pixels / Inch
Resample using = Bicubic
Lock aspect ratio = Checked
Resize all layers = Not checked
ok

10) Edit > Repeat Resize
Repeat until you have the tube showing to your liking.
Depending on the tube you work with, you might choose to resize in 50% steps to start with

11) Layers > Duplicate
Turn off visibility of duplicated tube

showing layer palette

12) Activate original tube layer
Effects > Plugins > MuRa's Meister > Copies
Settings: Wall Paper(shrink)
Number = 20
Shift X = 50, Shift Y = 50
Angle = 0, Rotation = 0
Attenuation = 0, Scale = 0
Thru BG Range = 0
Fade Out = 0
While it is not necessary to have the layer fully covered, it should be about 75% over all, increase the number amount if necessary

showing plugin result

Your "empty spaces" will look differently as the plugin gives a different result every time "ok" is clicked

13) Effects > Plugins > MuRa's Meister > Copies
Settings: Wall Paper(rotate)
Number = 20
Shift X = 50, Shift Y = 50
Angle = 0, Rotation = 100
Attenuation = 0, Scale = 100
Thru BG Range = 0
Fade Out = 0
The layer should be fully covered.
Increase the number amount if necessary

showing plugin result

14) Layers > Duplicate
Rename Layer: Blur

15) Adjust > Blur > Gaussian Blur
Settings:
Radius = 12.50

16) Activate bottom layer
Rename: No Blur

17) Effects > Plugins > Impressionist > Impressionist
Settings:
Style > Natural > Tied Grass Mosaic
Background = Image
Brush Size = 60%
Coverage = 100%
Pressure = 90
Apply

18) Activate layer 'Blur'
Edit > Repeat Impressionist

19) Layers > Duplicate
Rename Layer: Blur 2

20) Activate layer 'Blur'
Effects > User Defined Filter

position of tool

Settings:
Emboss_3

picture of tut result

21) Activate layer 'Blur 2'
Layers Palette
Reduce to 68 or a setting of your liking

22) Layers > New Raster Layer

23) Flood Fill Tool (F)
Settings:
Match mode = None
Use all layers = Not checked
Blend mode = Normal
Opacity = 100

24) Right click to flood fill with (light) Background Color

25) Layers Palette
Change blend mode to 'Soft Light'

26) Layers New Raster Layer

27) Layers > Arrange > Bring to Top

28) Materials Palette
Change Background color to Black

29) Selections > Select All
Or:
Selection > Custom selection
Settings:
Top = 0
Left = 0, Right = 600
Bottom = 250

30) Flood Fill Tool
Right click to flood fill with (black) Background Color

31) Selections > Modify > Contract
Settings:
Number of Pixels = 1

32) Edit > Clear

33) Activate layer 'No Blur'
Selections > Modify > Select Selection Borders
Settings:
Inside = Checked
Anti-alias = Checked
Border width = 7

34) Selections > Promote Selection to Layer

35) Layers > Arrange > Bring to Top

36) Selections > Select None

37) Optional:
Image > Mirror or Flip or both depending on your liking

38) Effects > 3D Effects > Inner Bevel
Settings:
Bevel = #2, Width = 7
Smoothness = 5, Depth = 4
Ambience = 5, Shininess = 40
Color = White, Angle = 315
Intensity = 30, Elevation = 50

39) Layers > Arrange > Move Down
Just below the 1px black border

40) Activate 1px black border
Layers > Merge > Merge Down

41) Effects > 3D Effects > Drop Shadow
Settings:
Vertical & Horizontal = 2
Opacity = 44
Blur = 10.00
Color = Black
Shadow on new layer = Not checked

42) Effects > 3D Effects > Drop Shadow
Settings:
Vertical & Horizontal = -2 (Minus)

43) Activate Tube layer
Turn on opacity
Move Tool (M)
Move Tube into preferred position
Resize to your liking if necessary

44) Adjust > Sharpness > Unsharp Mask
Settings:
Radius = 5.00, Strength = 15
Clipping = 30
Luminance only = Checked
(Or a setting of your liking)

45) Effects > 3D Effects > Drop Shadow
Settings:
Vertical & Horizontal = 2

46) Layers > New Raster Layer

47) Add your artists copyrights/information
AI images can not be copyrighted



Pattern for Text

48) Activate your tube layer
Selection Tool (S)
Settings:
Selection type = Square
Select a colorful part of your tube

49) Edit > Copy

50) Edit > Paste As New Image

51) Effects > Image Effects > Seamless Tiling
Settings: (Default)
Tiling method = Corner
Direction = Bidirectional
Horizontal offset (%) = 0
Vertical offset (%) = 0
Transition (%) = 50
Linear = Checked

52) Materials Palette
Foreground = Your (dark) Foreground color
Background = Pattern you just created
Settings:
Angle = 12
Size = 60
Texture = Not checked
Depending on the Pattern you might change Angle and/or Size settings

53) Text Tool (T)
Settings:
Font = Dupree
Size = 48 Points (or what suits your Font and Text)
Alignment = Center
Direction = Horizontal and Down
Anti-alias = Sharp
Stroke width = 1.2 (or what suits your Font and Text)
Create as Vector
Auto kern = Checked
Kerning = 0 (or what suits your Font and Text)

54) Activate your tag
Selections > Select None

55) Type Text of choice and click on Apply

56) Layers > Convert to Raster Layer

57) Move Tool
Move text to place of choice

58) Effects > Plugins > Eye Candy 4000 > Gradient Glow
Settings:
Basic:
Glow width (pixels) = 3.00
Soft Corners (%) = 25
Overall Opacity (%) = 100
Draw Only Outside Selection = Checked
Color = Color of choice

If you do not have Eye Candy 4000, use a Drop Shadow of choice

59) Adjust > Brightness and Contrast > Brightness/Contrast (Shift & B)
Settings:
Brightness = -10 (Minus)
Contrast = 30
(Or a setting of your liking)

60) Effects > 3D Effects > Drop Shadow

61) File > Export > JPEG Optimizer
Settings:
Set Compression value to = 10
Chroma subsampling = YCbCr 2x2 1x1 1x1
Save Exif data = Not checked


You are done!

I hope that you enjoyed doing this tutorial. If you have any questions, please email me:
Lismibaebi at gmail.com
I would love to see what you create with my tutorial.



A special "Thank you" goes to my Tester Group.
Your help, support and patience has made all the difference.

smilie


Link to First Page


Back to top